Defra - Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Science Search

Science and Research Projects

Return to Science Search homepage   Return to Project List

Economic Evaluation of Stage 1 Environmentally Sensitive Areas: Follow up Study - ER02026

Environmentally Sensitive Areas (ESAs) were first introduced in 1987 and there are 22 currently designated in England. ESAs aim to help conserve and enhance areas of national importance for their landscape, wildlife and historic interest and which are vulnerable to changes in farming practices. They do this by offering payments to farmers who are willing to enter a 10 year agreement to maintain or introduce environmentally beneficial farming practices. The scheme is a voluntary one. Each ESA is designed to meet local agricultural and environmental requirements, with the result that the management prescriptions and payments differ from ESA to ESA.

In 1987 the English Stage 1 ESAs came into force. The areas designated were :the Broads, Pennine Dales, Somerset Levels and Moors, South Downs and West Penwith (on the Lands End Peninsula in Cornwall). The research will focus on these ESAs.
Time-Scale and Cost
From: 1995

To: 1996

Cost: £64,880
Contractor / Funded Organisations
Economic Policy Evaluation              
Environmentally Sensitive Areas (ESA)